Roselea Public School

Excellence. Collaboration. Opportunity.

Telephone02 9871 1324

Learning at our school

Find out more about what your child will learn at our school.

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

Some primary schools may also offer languages.

NSW schools also offer special religious education and special education in ethics via approved providers, where available.

Like all NSW schools, we have developed teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit:

Stages of learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1, or Kindergarten, to the end of Stage 3.

  • Stage 1 includes Kindergarten to Year 2 (Kindergarten is referred to as Early Stage 1).
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.

Learning to Learn Framework at Roselea

A major focus at Roselea Public School is to ensure the provision of a learning environment that promotes high quality student learning. In line with current research, we acknowledge the need to develop students who are life long learners, who possess the skills they need to effectively participate in workplaces and communities of the future, who are literate, numerate, articulate and effective in applying the skills associated with learning and social competence.

To achieve this we believe that there is a need to be explicit in the way in which we teach not only the basic skills of literacy and numeracy but the broader skills associated with effective learning and higher order thinking.

Students during their primary schooling at Roselea will develop:

  • Information and research skills
  • Social competencies such as co-operation, team work, resilience, citizenship, flexibility and effective listening
  • A capacity to set goals, monitor their progress and reflect on their own learning
  • An understanding of multiple intelligences and emotional intelligence
  • Higher order thinking skills
  • Critical thinking skills
  • Technology skills
  • Study skills including the use of visual tools for learning
  • Personal attributes and Habits of Mind to assist students to be motivated and have a positive attitude towards learning

Strategies which are used to develop these skills include:

  • Gardener's Multiple Intelligences, Edward DeBono's 6 Thinking Hats, Ryan's Thinkers Keys, Bloom's Taxonomy and Visual Learning Tools
  • Utilising the NSW Quality Teaching Model
  • Co-operative learning and the explicit teaching of the aligned skills
  • Development of understandings of Habits of Mind (learning behaviours), the identification of priority learning behaviours and the development of teaching and learning strategies
  • Development of understandings about authentic assessment, consistent teacher judgement, student goal setting and self reflection
  • Skill development in the use of learning technologies